What is the SOF (single oversight framework)?

The Single Oversight Framework is designed to help NHS providers attain, and maintain, Care Quality Commission ratings of ‘Good’ or ‘Outstanding’. The Framework doesn't give a performance assessment in its own right.

The framework applies from 1 October 2016, replacing the Monitor 'Risk Assessment Framework' and the NHS Trust Development Authority 'Accountability Framework'.

How it works

 The Framework will help us identify NHS providers' potential support needs across five themes:

  • quality of care
  • finance and use of resources
  • operational performance
  • strategic change
  • leadership and improvement capability
NHS England and NHS Improvement segment individual trusts according to the level of support each trust needs. The regional teams at NHS England and NHS Improvement can then signpost, offer or mandate tailored support as appropriate.

Feedback and Knowledge Base